Friday, October 12, 2012

Navratri - Durga Puja

Durga, in Sanskrit means "She who is incomprehensible or difficult to reach." Goddess Durga
 is a form of Sakti worshiped for her gracious as well as terrifying aspect. Mother of the 

Universe, she represents the infinite power of the universe and is a symbol of a female 


She is also called by many other names, such as Parvati, Ambika, and Kali. In the form of 

Parvati, She is known as the divine spouse of Lord Shiva and is the mother of Her two sons, 

Ganesha and Karttikeya, and daughter Jyoti. Destroyer of demons, she is worshiped during an 

annual festival called Durga puja.

Performing Durga Puja at least once in a year will give prosperity, health ,wealth and peace of 

mind to the individual who is performing it.

Durga Puja is done specially during the Navratras

Navratra literally means '9 nights'. These days are astrologically very powerful for Spiritual

upliftment. During these days and nights, prayers are offered to 'Mother' who is the 

Manifestation of the Absolute Energy that pervades the Universe. As 'Durga' sitting on a Lion, 

she is a Manifestation of 'Shakti' or the Primordial Energy. The Power to breathe, walk, digest 

etc, comes from Ma Durga.

Durga Puja bestows wealth and property and protects the person from all sorts of dangers.

Durga is the Overlord of Rahu. Her energy counteracts and destroys Rahu negative influence.

Each day is the symbol of different Goddess. Therefore, the worship should be done considering all the Deities at their significant day. The worship of first day of the Navratri must include Kalash Sthapna and installation of clay pot in which the Jaw is nurtured for 9 days. Strict fast and avoidance of liquor, non vegetarian food, onion and even garlic must be maintained for the next 9 days. The deities who are worshipped during Navratri or Durga Pooja are:
  1. Devi Shailputri
  2. Devi Brahmacharinii
  3. Devi Chandraghanta
  4. Devi Kushmanda
  5. Skanda Mata
  6. Devi Katyayini
  7. Devi Kalratri
  8. Maha Gauri
  9. Siddhidatri
It is important to have unbreakable faith in the power and love of the Goddess to deviate all her blessings toward you and your family. Only the true believers of the Goddess can feel the heavenly peace in performing all the rituals of Navratri.

No comments:

book on Yoga & Meditation

Free Numerology